Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Techniques of the Translation Process: A Webinar

I am pleased to announce a webinar on translation techniques that I will be facilitating on March 8, 2012 at 11 am EST US, 4 pm GMT /UTC, 2 am AEST Aus.

The webinar is intended for translators who would like to know more about the process of translating. The term ‘translation’ refers to the process of formulating an equivalent message into a target language as well as the result of such a process. The process of translating is generally viewed as a problem-solving exercise, but more often than not its study is merely a description of its stages and the competencies that come into play. Among these competencies is the ability to interpret the source text accurately and render such interpretation using the full communicative capacity of the target language.

The translation techniques  –understood as instruments of textual analysis– studied in this webinar are based on those proposed in 1958 by Jean-Paul Vinay and Jean Darbelnet in their Stylistique comparée du français et de l’anglais. While Vinay and Darbelnet’s theoretical principles have engendered sometimes virulent criticism in academic settings, the proposed translation techniques have been used to teach translation students in Canadian universities, adapted and applied to other languages including Spanish (but until recently were almost unknown in the United States and only little known in Great Britain), and have been revisited and augmented several times (1996, 2000, 2003), which no doubt attest to their relevance more than half a century after they were first developed.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.